Women’s Cross Country Team Captures the GSAC Title

For a second straight year, the women’s squad wins the conference championship.

Nov. 11, 2013 By Neil Morgan

Simple brilliance has come all year long from the men and women's cross country squads, and it all came to a thrilling culmination on Saturday, Nov. 9. The women’s squad won their second straight Golden State Athletic Conference championship and the men finished third, their best finish since 2011.

The No. 3 women’s team was dialed in throughout the race, putting in one of the most complete performances of the season. All seven potential scorers finished in the top 17 in the field of 72. The Eagles finished with 33 points, a close four point win over The Master’s.

“This women’s team has been extremely dialed-in since September, it has been a great mix of professionalism and a super balance of personalities,” said Head Coach Jonathan Zimmerman. “They did a tremendous job of being a good, old-fashioned, team. They showed some real grit and determination in competing.”

Kellian Hunt (17:27.15) and Carrie Soholt (17:29.03) finished first and second overall and led a contingent of five Eagles who took home All-GSAC honors by finishing in the top 14 overall (Hunt, Soholt, Lyndee Dawson, Anika Gasner and Chelsea Janzen).

This win solidified that the Eagles have won every race they have been entered in this season except for one at San Diego State in which they placed second behind an Arkansas team that is ranked third in NCAA DI.

Danny Ledesma (25:29.22) and Kevin Horchler (26:21.21) finished third and 13th overall in the field of 57 to both earn All-GSAC nods. The men finished the day with 88 points to finish behind The Master’s (41) and Arizona Christian (74).

“Men’s team did really well and moved up two spots from finishing fifth a year ago,” said Zimmerman. “They have matured tremendously and my hat is off to them as they are great competitors, scholars and gentleman.”

Finishing behind Ledesma and Horchler, and also registering counting times for the Eagles were Andrew Daedler (26:59.21), Collin Christensen (27:02.77) and Shane Brinson (27:24.74).

The women’s squad will move on to compete at the NAIA national championship meet Nov. 23, and the men’s squad will qualify some individual competitors, including Danny Ledesma who will qualify for a third consecutive season.

Post a Comment

Your email will not be published as part of your comment.

Biola University
13800 Biola Ave. La Mirada, CA 90639
© Biola University, Inc. All Rights Reserved.